TEXAS MARITIME MUSEUM ASSOCIATION INC

EIN: 74-2097680 · ROCKPORT, TX · Data spans: TY2024–TY2025

Sailing's public record, made legible. All numbers come directly from this organization's own sworn 990 filing. Patterns are computed from years of filings — not assessments or judgments.

Read trends in context: compare like with like, note the filing year, and treat major disruptions (like 2020–2021) as discontinuities rather than a continuous baseline.

Missing or N/A does not always mean absent. It can mean the item was not disclosed on that form, not collected on that filing type, or not available for that year.

Accrual basisAuditedAudit committeePart XII · TY2025
Total Revenueℹ️Form 990, Part VIII — Statement of Revenue. Includes contributions, grants, member dues, program service revenue, and investment income. Does NOT include borrowed funds or asset sales proceeds.

$865,694

Total Expensesℹ️Form 990, Part IX (full 990) or Part I Line 17 (990-EZ) — Total functional expenses. Includes program service expenses, management and general, and fundraising. The gap between revenue and expenses is the operating surplus or deficit for the year.

$813,770

Total Assetsℹ️Form 990, Part X — Balance Sheet, end of year. Includes cash, receivables, investments, land, buildings, and equipment.

$1,959,744

Net Assetsℹ️Form 990, Part X — Total assets minus total liabilities (also called fund balance). Positive values indicate assets exceed liabilities; negative values indicate liabilities exceed assets.

$1,810,486

16 W-2 employees reported (Form W-3, most recent filing — contractors and volunteers excluded) · TY2025 · 990

Total compensation, benefits & payroll taxes (Part IX)

TY2025

$309,422

Full cost to employ everyone — wages + employer benefits + payroll taxes. Not officer pay alone.

~$19,000 per employee ⓘ — average across 16W-2 employees; includes benefits & payroll taxes; part-time and seasonal staff counted at full weight.

Named officers/key employees (Part VII‑A) show reportable compensation only and are already included in the Part IX total above. They are not additive.

Named staff org comp sums to $77,283. The remaining $232,139is unlisted staff labor cost — includes benefits & payroll taxes for all employees, not any one person's salary.

Professional & consulting fees (Part IX, line 11)

TY2025

$112,650

Payments to outside firms and independent contractors — not included in the Part IX labor total above. Combined with the labor total, full people cost is $422,072.

Accounting$28,645
Other$84,005

Functional Expense Allocation (Part IX)

TY2025

$813,770total functional expenses

55.3%

Program services

$449,991

44.7%

Management & general

$363,779

0.0%

Fundraising

$0

Source: Form 990, Part IX, line 25.

Historical Trends

Revenue vs. Expenses

Net Revenue / Operating Margin

Net Assets

Financial Health Snapshot

Derived from IRS 990 filings. Figures are as reported — they reflect a single point in time and should be read alongside the full filing history and program context above. No benchmark is a verdict.

Operating Margin

+6.0%TY2025

Net revenue as a share of total revenue. Positive = surplus; negative = deficit.

Sector context: sailing organizations typically run thin margins by design. A small surplus signals structural balance; a deficit is not automatically a warning without multi-year trend context.

Net asset reserve (months, proxy)

26.7 monthsTY2025

Total net assets divided by monthly expense. Proxy only — includes restricted assets. Part X balance sheet data required for a more precise figure.

A common practitioner benchmark: 3–6 months of unrestricted reserves provides a buffer for seasonal revenue gaps or unexpected costs. This figure is not a compliance threshold.

Revenue Change (YoY)

-16.0%TY2025

Change in total revenue from TY2024 to TY2025.

A single year of revenue change is a data point, not a trend. See the historical trends above for multi-year pattern context.

Revenue Trend

Tax YearPeriodFormRevenueExpensesNet RevenueNet Assets
TY20242022+990$1,030,803$590,624$440,179$1,758,512
TY20252022+990$865,694$813,770$51,924$1,810,486

Revenue trend is a filing-history view. It helps you compare operating periods, not infer the club's live condition today.

Revenue Breakdown (Part VIII — most recent year)

Form 990, Part VIII — Statement of Revenue. Includes, but is not limited to: Line 1 = contributions and grants (including member dues reported as contributions). Lines 2a–2f = program service revenue (activities that directly further the organization's exempt purpose). Line 3 = investment income. The specific mix varies by organization type. Source: the organization's own sworn filing.

LineDescriptionAmount
12Total revenue$865,694
1bMembership dues$17,155
1eGovernment grants (contributions)$659,788
1fAll other contributions, gifts, grants$72,359
1hTotal contributions and grants$749,302
2bMISCELLANEOUS$16,339
2fTotal program service revenue$16,339
3Investment income$4,704

Most revenue is reported in a single category this year. That can be normal for some org types; see the source filing for detail.

Balance Sheet (Part X)

TY2025
LineDescriptionBOYEOY
16Total assets$2,166,999$1,959,744
26Total liabilities$408,487$149,258
33Total net assets or fund balances$1,758,512$1,810,486

Source: Form 990, Part X, Balance Sheet.

Officers & Key Staff (Part VII)

How to read this section

This is not a full staff directory. It is the subset of people the organization had to disclose in Form 990, Part VII (the officer, director, trustee, key employee, and highest-compensated employee section of the filing). Why this matters: a missing name does not mean a person was not employed or involved.

Total Volunteer Board Hours/Week (Selected Year): 9

Hours per week are self-reported by each officer on Form 990, Part VII. They are not verified.

Officers and directors as reported on Form 990, Part VII. These are typically unpaid, elected positions. If an officer receives compensation, it will appear in the Paid Staff tab.

Operationally, this section is most useful for understanding disclosed leadership structure, compensation visibility, and board labor — not for reconstructing the full staffing model of a club.

NameTitleHours/WeekStatus
THOMAS B RODINOBoard of Trustee President4Volunteer
David HattmanBOARD OF TRUSTEE1Volunteer
Kenneth KellarBoard of Trustee Sec/Treas.1Volunteer
CECIL ROUSSEAUBOARD OF TRUSTEE1Volunteer
Tabitha BrownBOARD OF TRUSTEE1Volunteer
David HendrickBoard of Trustee Vice President1Volunteer

Programs (Part III — most recent year)

Form 990, Part III — Statement of Program Service Accomplishments. These are the activities that directly further the organization's exempt purpose. Expenses, grants, and revenue are as reported in the organization's own sworn filing.

THE TEXAS MARITIME MUSEUM HAS A ROBUST EDUCATIONAL DEPARTMENT THAT OPERATES YEAR-ROUND. THESE PROGRAMS ARE STRUCTURED TO EDUCATE AND INSPIRE ALL AGES ABOUT TEXAS MARITIME HISTORY, INCLUDING H2ODYSSEY CAMP, THE WINTER LECTURE SERIES, AND ARCHEOLOGY DAY, TO NAME A FEW. ALONG WITH THE EDUCATION DEPARTMENT, THE TEXAS MARITIME MUSEUM PRODUCES ITS QUARTERLY NEWSLETTER, THE BEACON, FOR ITS MEMBERS. THIS …

Expenses: $39,194

Governance & Transparency Signals

The IRS Form 990 is a sworn disclosure document — not just a tax return. Beyond financials, it captures governance policies, compensation practices, and relationships between insiders and the organization. Every category below comes directly from that filing. When a field is blank, it is often because this form type doesn’t require it, or the org doesn’t meet the threshold that triggers disclosure. That context is itself worth knowing.

Conflict of Interest Policy

Form 990, Part VI — Line 12a

Reported: Yes

This organization has a written conflict of interest policy requiring officers, directors, and key employees to disclose any personal financial interest in a pending decision and to step back from that vote. A documented policy creates a formal process for surfacing and managing potential conflicts. In this corpus, 41% of organizations report having one.

Whistleblower Protection Policy

Form 990, Part VI — Line 13

Reported: Yes

A formal process exists for employees, volunteers, or members to report suspected misconduct, with documented protection from retaliation. The IRS added this question in 2008 following Sarbanes-Oxley. In this corpus, 27.5% of organizations report having one.

Officer & Key Employee Compensation (Part VII)

Form 990, Part VII — Named individuals with reportable compensation

Part VII requires individual disclosure of all officers, directors, trustees, key employees, and the five highest-compensated employees earning above the reporting threshold. The individuals listed here are from the most recent available filing.

NameTitleComp from Org
MICHAEL ABLESEXECUTIVE DIRECTOR$77,283

Compensation shown is reportable compensation from this organization only, as disclosed in Part VII. Most volunteer-run sailing clubs report $0 officer compensation, while larger organizations may report paid executive roles. The figures above show exactly what this filing reports for named individuals.

Independent Compensation Consultant

Schedule J, Part I — Organizations filing when comp exceeds $150K

—

No independent compensation consultant reported for the most recent year with Schedule J data (2024). Executive pay was set through internal board processes — a compensation committee, comparison to prior years, or board vote — without outside benchmarking. This filing line records the process used, rather than evaluating whether that process is right or wrong.

Equity-Based Compensation

Schedule J, Part II — Per-person compensation detail

Not reported

No equity-based compensation reported — expected for a nonprofit. Nonprofits cannot issue ownership stakes because they have no shareholders. In the for-profit world, equity aligns executive incentives with long-term value creation; the nonprofit analog takes different forms (retention bonuses, deferred comp) but not equity. Zero percent of organizations in the sailing and yacht club corpus report this. This section reports whether the filing includes that disclosure.

Related-Party Transactions (Schedule L)

Schedule L — Transactions with Interested Persons (officers, directors, their families, controlled entities)

Schedule L requires disclosure of loans, grants, and business transactions between the organization and its own insiders — board members, officers, key employees, and their family members or entities they control. Nonprofits are not prohibited from transacting with insiders, but they must disclose it, follow fair-market-value standards, and document that the transaction benefited the organization, not just the insider. These disclosures exist because self-dealing is the most direct way nonprofit assets can flow to those in control.

No related-party transactions found in our data for this organization. Schedule L is only required when transactions occur — absence means none were reported, not necessarily that none occurred.

Voting Board Members

6

Independent Members

6

Total Employees

16

Total Volunteers

250

Schedule O — Supplemental Information (most recent year)

Organizations use Schedule O to provide additional explanation for answers given on the main 990 form. These are direct excerpts from the filed document.

Pt VI, Line 11b

THE OFFICERS REVIEW THE RETURN BEFORE SUBMITTING.

Pt VI, Line 8b

EACH COMMITTEE SUBMITS FINDINGS TO THE DIRECTORS FOR APPROVAL.

Pt VI, Line 12c

THE DIRECTORS MONITOR THE COMPLIANCE ANNUALLY.

Pt VI, Line 15b

THE DIRECTORS APPROVE ALL SALARIES OF KEY EMPLOYEES.

Pt XI

LINE 5: UNREALIZED GAIN

Mission

PRESERVATION OF MARITIME HISTORY THROUGH EXHIBITS AND EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS.

As stated in the organization's 990 filing.

IRS Source Filings

Source filings are IRS e-file records in XML (Extensible Markup Language) format — a structured data standard used by the IRS for electronic filing. If you open one of these links, it will look like code. That's not an error — that's what XML looks like. Harbor Commons processes this raw XML and presents the structured, readable view you see above.

Why this matters: the XML is the receipt. Harbor Commons is the reading layer on top of that receipt. If you ever need to verify a number, wording choice, or disclosure, the source filing is where to check.

Similar Organizations

Finding peer organizations…

Capacity Signals

Auto-detected patterns from this organization's own IRS filing history. Signals are relative to this org's trend only — not peer comparisons, not judgments.

Private clubs are naturally labor-heavy. Always interpret signals against this organization's own context before drawing conclusions.

Notable

Labor cost per employee rose with flat headcount

Average labor cost per employee rose 39% YoY (TY2024→TY2025) while headcount stayed flat and revenue grew less than 8%. This can reflect pay raises, benefit cost increases, or a shift toward higher-compensated roles.

Why it matters: Rising per-employee cost without corresponding revenue growth compresses operating margins and may reflect wage catch-up after a period of underpayment, or structural changes in benefits.

Operator question: Were raises given broadly across staff, or did the mix shift toward higher-compensated positions (e.g., new senior hire, benefits restructure)?

Phase 2 signals (contractor substitution, benefits share changes) require Part IX line-level data and are not yet available. All computations use IRS-filed data only; no external benchmarks or CPI adjustments beyond a 3% per year inflation proxy.

See an error?

If you spot a data discrepancy, misattribution, or filing mismatch — let us know.

Send us a signal →
Questions or corrections? Send us a signal →